HH Pope Shenouda III

His Holiness Pope Shenouda III, 117th Pope of Alexandria, was born on August 3, 1923 in the city of Sohag in Upper Egypt; he was given the name of Nazir Gayed Raphael. His mother died immediately after his birth and was taken care of by his father and his older brother, “Raphael”.
He obtained his Bachelor of Arts degree in Pharaonic and Islamic History in 1947 from Fouad I University (Cair University currently) (excellent grade). 

T1498241235081d1a35daee544c7c195c40705a4f31image.jpg&w=500&h=281&

In his final year at the Faculty of Arts, he joined the Seminary and obtained the bachelor’s degree in three years, and worked an Arabic and English teacher.
He attended evening classes at the Coptic Theological Seminary and was a student and a professor at the same college at the same time.

His Holiness enjoyed writing very much, especially poems; and was an editor then editor-in-chief of the Sunday Schools magazine and at the same time he was pursuing higher degree in ancient archeology.

Mr. Gayed was very active in his church and served as a Sunday School teacher, first at Saint Anthony’s Church in Shobra and then at Saint Mary’s Church in Mahmasha.

In the days of Pope Shenouda III, University students were exempt from joining the Army. And It was also possible to pay an amount of money in order to be exempt. But he volunteered while he was still a student at the university. 3 years in the army ongoing daily military training in ​​Sidi Bishr first military and then in Mandara, Alexandria. He was top of his batch at the Infantry School.

On July 18, 1954, Mr. Gayed was led to the monastic life at “El-Suryan” Monastery in the western desert of Egypt; he was given the name of Father Antonyos El-Suryaani. For six years, from 1956 to 1962, he lived a life of solitude in a cave about seven miles away from the monastery, dedicating all his time to meditation, prayer, and asceticism. Pope Shenouda once said, “I found in monasticism, a life of complete freedom and clarification.” 

في-ذكرى-رحيل-البابا-شنوده-الثالث-4

HG Bishop Theophilus, entrusted the library of manuscripts and manuscripts in “El-Suryan” Monastery to Pope Shenouda when he was a monk, after Fr. Makari ElSuryani left it (Bishop Samuel of Public Services).

In 1959, His Holiness Pope Kyrillos VI appointed Fr. Antonyos as his personal secretary.

In 1962, he was ordained by the late Pope Cyril VI as Bishop of Ecclesiastical (Religious) Education and was named President of the Coptic Theological Seminary; he was given the name of Bishop Shenouda on September 30, 1962. 

After the departure of Pope Kyrillos IV The Divine Providence chose (Anba Antonius) by altar ballot on 31 October 1971 to be the Pope Shenouda III and On November 14, 1971, His Holiness was enthroned as Pope Shenouda III, the 117th Pope of Alexandria, and successor of the see of St. Mark.

41_20151104173439

His Holiness ordained more than seventy bishops, established general bishoprics, including the first Bishopric of Youth, more than four hundred priests, and countless deacons for Cairo, Alexandra and the Churches abroad. This extended the pastoral care to every city, village and family all over the See of St. Mark. His Holiness continually holds meetings and seminars with the clergy to discuss any pastoral problems or needs.

During the early years of his enthronement, His Holiness Pope Shenouda had an amicable relationship with the late Egyptian President Anwar El-Sadat. However, during his presidency, violent Islamic fundamentalist groups increased all over Egypt, especially in the Universities. They started to attack the Copts, vandalize their businesses, and burn their churches, which led Pope Shenouda to protest to the government against this repeated violence. Sadat reacted by issuing a presidential decree to exile His Holiness to the Monastery of St. Bishoy, imprison eight bishops, twenty-four priest, leading Coptic lay figures, and ban “El-Keraza” magazine and “Watany” newspaper.

A month after his decree, Sadat was assassinated by the same fundamentalist groups. After much effort from His Holiness’ children inside and outside the Coptic Orthodox Church, and after three and a half years, the succeeding Egyptian President Hosni Mubarak, released Pope Shenouda from exile. Accompanied by many bishops, His Holiness returned to St. Mark’s Cathedral in Cairo, where more than ten thousand people filled the Cathedral to receive the Pope.

Untitled3

In spite of the many responsibilities of his Holiness, he always tries to spend three days a week at the monastery, and his love for monastic life led to its revival in the Coptic Church, where hundreds of monks and nuns were ordained.

He was the first patriarch to establish several Coptic monasteries outside the Arab Republic of Egypt and restored many of the monasteries that was destroyed.

In his reign, the dioceses increased and a large number of churches were established both inside and outside Egypt. The Coptic Church moved from local to global.

The holy Myron and the Galalons were sanctified seven times in his reign: 1981 – 1987 – 1993 – 1995 – 2004 – 2005 – 2008.

His Holiness suffered from several diseases throughout his life, cartilage pains in the back (spine), cancer in the lungs (the disease did not spread in other parts as doctors expected), he also had some health problems in Kidney, He underwent  kidney dialysis for years and sometimes more than once a week. He also suffered from heart problems, diabetes and High blood pressure. In 2006 He suffered from broken bones and underwent an operation.

1p

His Holiness Pope Shenouda III departed on Saturday 17 March 2012 at 5:15 pm at the age of 89. The funeral prayer was held on his immaculate body on Tuesday 20 March 2012, amid the attendance of many representatives of the world’s churches, politicians and hundreds of thousands of Christians and Muslims.

قداسة البابا شنوده الثالث

بابا الإسكندرية وبطريرك الكرازة المرقسية رقم 117، اسمه قبل الرهبنة «نظير جيد روفائيل»، ولد يوم 2 أغسطس 1923، في صعيد مصر بقرية سلام التابعة لمحافظة سوهاج، توفيت والدته بعد ولادته مباشرة فتولى رعايته والده ثم شقيقه الأكبر «روفائيل».

التحق بجامعة فؤاد الأول، قسم التاريخ، وبدأ بدراسة التاريخ الفرعوني والإسلامي والتاريخ الحديث، وحصل على الليسانس بتقدير (ممتاز) عام 1947م.

T1498241235081d1a35daee544c7c195c40705a4f31image.jpg&w=500&h=281&

وفي السنة النهائية بكلية الآداب التحق بالكلية الإكليركية. وبعد حصوله على الليسانس بثلاث سنوات تخرج من الكلية الإكليريكية عمل مدرسًا للغة العربية و اللغة الإنجليزية.

حضر فصولا مسائية في كلية اللاهوت القبطي وكان تلميذًا وأستاذاُ في نفس الكلية في نفس الوقت.

كان يحب الكتابة وخاصة كتابة القصائد الشعرية ولقد كان ولعدة سنوات محررًا ثم رئيسًا للتحرير في مجلة «مدارس الأحد» وفي الوقت نفسه كان يتابع دراساته العُليا في علم الآثار القديمة.

كان من الأشخاص النشطين في الكنيسة وكان خادمًا في مدارس الآحد. كان خادمًا بجمعية النهضة الروحية التابعة لكنيسة السيدة العذراء مريم، ثم خادماً بكنيسة الأنبا انطونيوس بشبرا.

في أيام البابا شنودة الثالث، كان طلبة الجامعة معفيين من التجنيد. وكان من الممكن دفع بدل نقدى لمن يريد الإعفاء من الجيش. لكنه تطوع وهو لا يزال طالبًا في الجامعة. وقضى 3 سنوات فى التدريب العسكري اليومي في منطقة سيدي بشر أولاً ثم في المندرة بالإسكندرية. وكان في الجيش الأول بين الخريجين في مدرسة المشاة ثم اصبح ضباطًا برتبة ملازم بالجيش

التحق بالدير و رُسِمَ راهبًا باسم (انطونيوس السرياني) في يوم السبت 18 يوليو 1954، وقد قال قداسته أنه وجد في الرهبنة حياة مليئة بالحرية والنقاء. بعدها بعام نال نعمة الكهنوت و رسم قسيسا ومن عام 1956 إلى عام 1962 عاش قداسته حياة الوحدة في مغارة تبعد حوالي 7 أميال عن مبنى الدير مكرساً فيها كل وقته للتأمل و الصلاة.

في-ذكرى-رحيل-البابا-شنوده-الثالث-4

قام نيافة الأنبا ثاؤفيلس بإسناد المكتبة الاستعارية والمخطوطات في دير السريان إلى قداسته وهو راهب، بعد أن تركها القس مكاري السرياني (الأنبا صموئيل أسقف الخدمات العامة).

عمل سكرتيرًا خاصًا لقداسة البابا كيرلس السادس في عام 1959.

رُسِمَ أسقفًا للمعاهد الدينية والتربية الكنسية، وكان أول أسقف للتعليم المسيحي وعميد الكلية الإكليريكية، وذلك في يوم الأحد 30 سبتمبر 1962.  وقد سامه الأنبا كيرلس السادس أسقفًا للتعليم والمعاهد الدينية مع الأنبا صموئيل أسقف الخدمات.

بعد نياحة البابا كيرلس السادس اختارت العناية الإلهية (الأنبا أنطونيوس المتوحد) عن طريق القرعة الهيكلية في 31 أكتوبر1971م ليصبح البابا شنوده الثالث بابا وبطريرك الكرازة المرقسية الـ 117 ونصب  بطريركًا في 14 نوفمبر 1971م.

41_20151104173439

في عهد قداسته تمت سيامة أكثر من 100 أسقف وأسقف عام؛ بما في ذلك أول أسقف للشباب، وأكثر من 400 كاهن وعدد غير محدود من الشمامسة في القاهرة والإسكندرية وكنائس المهجر.

أولى قداسته اهتمامًا خاصًا لخدمة المرأة في الكنيسة القبطية الأرثوذكسية.

وكان الرئيس المصري الراحل محمد أنور السادات رئيساً لمصر في هذا التوقيت، وشهدت هذه الفترة مشاحنات شديدة بينه وبين البابا شنوده الثالث خاصة بعدما نظم الأقباط في أمريكا مظاهرة مناهضة لـلسادات رفعوا فيها لافتات تصف ما يحدث للأقباط في مصر بأنه اضطهاد، مما أدى إلى صدور قرار من أجهزة الأمن بتوقف البابا عن إلقاء درسه الأسبوعي وقرارا بعدم الاحتفال بالعيد في الكنيسة واستقبال المسئولين الرسميين الذين يوفدون من قبل الدولة للتهنئة.

من هنا أصبحت قطيعة بين السادات والبابا شنوده بعدما أعلن البابا وجود اضطهاد للأقباط في مصر، وفي سبتمبر عام 1981م أصدر السادات قرارا بالتحفظ على 1531 من الشخصيات العامة المعارضة، وحدد إقامة البابا في الدير بوادي النطرون حتى جاء قرار بالإفراج عن المعتقلين عام 1985م في ظل حكم الرئيس السابق محمد حسنى مبارك.

Untitled3

بالرغم من مسؤوليات قداسته العديدة والمتنوعة إلا أنه يحاول دائمًا قضاء ثلاثة أيام أسبوعيًا في الدير، وحب قداسته لحياة الرهبنة أدى إلى انتعاشها في الكنيسة القبطية حيث تم في عهده سيامة المئات من الرهبان والراهبات.. 

وكان أول بطريرك يقوم بإنشاء العديد من الأديرة القبطية خارج جمهورية مصر العربية وأعاد تعمير عدد كبير من الأديرة التي اندثرت.

في عهده زادت الإيبارشيات كما تم إنشاء عدد كبير من الكنائس سواء داخل أو خارج جمهورية مصر العربية، وانتقلت الكنيسة القبطية من المحلية إلى العالمية.

تم تقديس وعمل الميرون المقدس والغاليلاون في عهده سبعة مرات: 1981 – 1987 – 1993 – 1995 – 2004 – 2005 – 2008.

عانى قداسته من أمراضٍ عدة عبر حياته، كان أكبرها هي آلام الغضروف في الظهر (العمود الفقري)، كما أصيب بمرض السرطان في الرئتين (ولم ينتشر المرض في أجزاء أخرى كما توقع الأطباء)، كما كان لديه بعض المشاكل الصحية في الكِلية، وكان يقوم بعمل غسيل كلية لسنوات طوال، وأحيانًا أكثر من مرة في الأسبوع.  كما عانى من مشاكل صحية في القلب والسكر والضغط،  كما تعرَّض لكسر عام 2006 م وهو في سن كبير، وخضع لعملية خاصة لهذا الغرض.

1p

وقد تنيَّح قداسة البابا شنوده الثالث يوم السبت 17 مارس 2012 (الساعة الخامسة والربع بعد الظهر)، عن عمر يناهز 89 عامًا.  وتم صلاة الجناز على جسده الطاهر يوم الثلاثاء 20 مارس 2012، وسط حضور العديد من ممثلي الكنائس في العالم ورجال السياسة ومئات الآلاف من الشعب المسيحيين والمسلمين.