Beautiful Egypt 328 – “And the War Stopped at…” – 8/1/2020

Beautiful Egypt 328 – “And the War Stopped at…” – 8/1/2020

I wish you all had a glorious Nativity feast, hoping all good and peace for all Egyptians, security and prosperity for our beloved Egypt. As we speak about the Nativity, we always remember that message delivered from heaven to the shepherds: “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, goodwill toward men!” declaring itself “a peace message”. In the Nativity feast, “peace and love” manifest, which both have been purposes sought after by humanity along its journey throughout times, they have always been two dire needs and demands for every man, without being aware that he owns them in his hands! Rather they are firm-rooted in his depths, granted by the King of peace and love, some people may wonder: Could really peace be settled amidst our world, which has become as a terrifying forest, an arid wilderness?! Many keep silent, hesitant to answer such question! However, let me recount to you a page of the humane history which goes back to one of the gloomiest eras of humankind! Let’s see what Nativity could do to our lives, once we notice it.

In the winter of 1914, amidst the First World War atrocities, on Bulgarian lands and on the Nativity feast eve, British soldiers were astonished to see Christmas tree enlightened with candles at the enemy’s trenches. The Germans had placed candles over their trenches and on Christmas trees. The always-closed trenches got opened, with the German soldiers coming out of them slowly, crying with feeble English accent: “Merry Christmas”!

They said then: Do not shoot and we will not shoot! Few British soldiers showed up alertly to salute them, followed by others. Bit by bit, the two parties met on the land separating between the two fronts; fire shots went silent and war was stopped at the glorious Nativity feast.

All soldiers came out of their trenches, saluting one another for Christmas, chatting friendly and chanting hymns like: “O Holy Night” and “God save the king”. Moreover, some soldiers of the two sides began to hold a football match, which ended with the Germans scoring 3 against 2 goals. Such truce had allowed both sides to bury the recently killed soldiers, they prayed together as well. There were scarce moments of peace.

Lance Cooper, one of the soldiers, wrote a letter: “… What I am saying now is incredible, but it is true. On Christmas Eve, there was no firing. The German soldiers acted much friendly towards us, that they came to our trenches offering cigarettes and chocolates, and of course we offered them things in return. After the clock passed one on Christmas morning, I was on a guarding mission when a German soldier wished me a happy morning and a cheerful Christmas. The biggest surprise like which I had never seen in my life was: when daytime came, I saw all of them sitting on the tops of their trenches, waving their hands, and singing for us…”!! Another soldier called Be Kodar wrote: “We were in the trenches on the eve of Nativity feast, spending a more pleasing day than we had ever expected. There was a truce to bury our dead. So we held prayers over them at the graves headed by our leader and the German leader … I think I will never forget that Christmas I spent in the trenches. After the burial, we were talking to the Germans and getting souvenirs from them. Who can imagine that we were shaking hands with the enemy?! I think it is hard to believe, but it is the truth…”

It was a strange wonderful night, each soldier saw his enemy as a worth-living man. Those moments were written by history in the honorable humanity record, which is striving towards life, rejecting death dullness. This is the genuine humanity people bear in their hearts, before some people lost it due to thoughts instilled in them, or due to circumstances they passed through.

In Christmas, we receive the King of Peace and Love, so we shall remember that we all belong to one humane family. Merry Christmas to all of us, may we all remember the meanings of love and peace, even towards our enemies, and… Stories about beautiful Egypt never end!

The General Bishop

Head of the Coptic Orthodox Cultural Center

مصر الحلوة 328 «وتوقفت الحرب في …» – 8/1/2020

مصر الحلوة 328 «وتوقفت الحرب في …» – 8/1/2020

أهنئكم جميعًا بـ”عيد الميلاد المجيد”، متمنيًا للمِصريين جميعًا كل خير وسلام، ولبلادنا الحبيبة “مِصر” كل أمن ورخاء. وحين نتحدث عن “الميلاد”، نتذكر دائمًا تلك الرسالة التي قدمتها السماء إلى الرعاة: “المجد لله في الأعالي، وعلى الأرض السلام، وبالناس المسرة”، معلنةً أنها “رسالة السلام”. ففي الميلاد، يتجلى “السلام والحب” اللذان طالما بحثت عنهما البشرية في رحلتها الطويلة عبر الأزمان، وظَلا مطلبين واحتياجين ماسَّين لكل إنسان دون أن يدري أنهما بين يديه! بل كائنان في أعماقه!! موهوبان من ملك السلام والمحبة!! وربما يتساءل البشر: أحقًّا يمكن أن يتأصل سلام وسْط عالمنا الذي أمسى كغابة مريعة، برية قاحلة؟!! ويصمت كثيرون، مترددين في الإجابة عن هٰذا السؤال!! لٰكن، دعوني أسرُِد عليكم صفحة من التاريخ الإنسانيّ تُعد من أكثر الأحقاب التي مرت بالبشرية ظلامًا!! لنرى معًا ما يمكن أن يفعله الميلاد في حياتنا متى انتبهنا إليه.

شتاء 1914م، في أثناء لهيب الحرب العالمية الأولى، تحديدًا على أرض “بلغاريا”، في ليلة “عيد الميلاد المجيد”، تعجب الجنود البريطانيُّون حين رأَوا عند خنادق العدُو “شجرة عيد الميلاد” مضاءةً بشموع؛ فقد وضع الألمان شموعًا على خنادقهم، وعلى أشجار “عيد الميلاد”. ثم فُتحت الخنادق التي كانت مغلقة دائمًا، وخرج الجنود الألمان ببطء منها، وهم يصيحون بإنجليزية ركيكة: “عيد ميلاد سعيدًا”! ثم قالوا: لن تُطلقوا النيران! ولن نُطلقها! وبحذر خرج نفر قليل من الجنود البريطانيِّين لتحيتهم، ثم تبِعهم آخرون، وشيئًا فشيئًا التقى الجانبان على الأرض الفاصلة بين الجبتهين؛ وهٰكذا صمتت طلقات النيران وتوقفت الحرب في “عيد الميلاد المجيد”.

خرج جميع الجنود من خنادقهم، يحيّي كلٌّ الآخر بتحيات الميلاد، وأخذوا يتبادلون الأحاديث الودية، ويُنشدون الترانيم التي انتهت بترنيمتين: “أيتها الليلة المقدسة”، و”الرب يحفظ المَلك”. ولم يتوقف الأمر، بل شرع بعض الجنود من الفريقين يلعبون كرة القدم؛ وجاءت النتيجة 3-2 للألمان. كذٰلك سمحت تلك الهدنة لكلا الجانبين بدفن الجنود القتلى حديثًا، وصلَّوا معًا. كانت لحظات نادرة من السلام.

وقد كتب أحد المجندين ويُدعى “لانس كوبر” خطابًا يقول فيه: “… إن ما أقوله الآن لَمن الصعب تصديقه، لٰكنه حقيقيّ: لم يكُن هناك إطلاق نار في ليلة «عيد الميلاد». وكان الجنود الألمان ودودين جدًّا معنا، حتى إنهم وصلوا إلى خنادقنا وقدموا لنا لفائف التبغ (السجائر) والشيكولاتة، وبالطبع قدمنا لهم أشياء في المقابل. وبعد الساعة الواحدة من صباح يوم «عيد الميلاد»، كنتُ في مهمة حراسة، وتمنى لي أحد الجنود الألمان صباحًا سعيدًا وعيد ميلاد بهيجًا. وكانت المفاجأة الكبرى التي لم أشهد لها مثيلاً في حياتي: حين حل النهار، ورأيتهم جميعًا جالسين على قمم خنادقهم، يلوِّحون بأياديهم، ويغنون لنا …”!! وكتب آخر يُدعى “بي كودار”: “كنا في الخنادق ليلة «عيد الميلاد»، وأمضَينا يومًا سعيدًا أكثر مما كنا نتوقع. كانت هناك هدنة لدفن موتانا؛ فقمنا بالصلاة عليهم عند القبور برئاسة قائدنا والقائد الألمانيّ … أعتقد أنني لن أنسى يوم «عيد الميلاد» الذي قضّيته في الخنادق أبدًا. وبعد الدفن، كنا نتحدث إلى الألمان ونحصل على هدايا تَذكارية منهم. من يستطيع أن يتخيل أننا كنا نصافح أيدي العدُو؟! أظن أنه من الصعوبة تصديق ذٰلك لٰكنها الحقيقة …”.

لقد كانت ليلة عجيبة غريبة، رأى كل جنديّ في عدُوه إنسانًا يستحق الحياة. لحظات خطها التاريخ في سجل الإنسانية المشرّف، الساعي نحو الحياة، الرافض لظلام الموت. إنها الإنسانية الأصيلة التي يحملها البشر في أعماقهم، قبل أن يفقدها بعضهم لأفكار غُرست فيهم غرسًا أو لظروف مرت بهم.

وفي الميلاد، حين نستقبل “ملك السلام والمحبة”، علينا أن نتذكر أننا ما زلنا بشرًا في عائلة إنسانية واحدة. كل عام وجميعنا بخير في “عيد الميلاد المجيد”، ومتذكرون فيه معاني “المحبة” و”السلام” حتى نحو الأعداء في كل يوم من حياتنا، و… والحديث في “مِصر الحلوة” لا ينتهي!

الأُسقف العام رئيس المركز الثقافيّ القبطيّ الأُرثوذكسيّ