Beautiful Egypt 375 – «The Umbrella of Peace» – 2/12/2020

Beautiful Egypt 375 – «The Umbrella of Peace» – 2/12/2020

The previous article “The Only Choice” tackled the role of peace in establishing the human civilization and the irreplaceable society building. I received a letter from a dear reader in which he said: “In building societies, we need to work hard in order to secure the future of our children.” I agree with him that without hard work, societies can neither be constructed nor developed. However, the construction needs the umbrella of peace to protect and strengthen it, since wars, conflicts and divisions do not build up healthy societies capable of overcoming reality challenges and achieving future hopes. That is why I preferred to write today about war and peace.

The world, which has suffered the ravages of war, especially the two World Wars, has only realized the meaning of peace when it lost it for long years! When people put aside their main missions of working, constructing and life, and got preoccupied with wars, destructing others and death, unaware that it carries within defeat of the humanity meanings for all the warring parties. As everyone knows, a person’s need for safety is the first demand that arises after satisfying one’s vital needs. Without safety and psychological stability, a man’s mental capabilities are being disturbed. Thus, wars, unrest and divisions become obstacles against building human beings and societies.

Peace is the umbrella of safety for human beings, which wards them off the horrible consequences of wars like killing and destruction: the First World War (1914-1918) left behind devastation for nearly a decade in the world countries, resulting in the death of 8 to 10 million soldiers, the disability of 7 million, and the serious injury of 15 million! Although the number of killed civilians of that war was not calculated, the researchers assert they approach 13 million! In Germany alone, 474,000 civilians were killed. In addition, famines have claimed the lives of millions of people, disintegrated families and displaced millions, especially in Europe and Asia: In Russia, the estimated number of homeless children was 4.5 to 7 million! Diseases spread in the course of that war: the Typhus epidemic spread, killing 200,000 people in Serbia and 3 millions in Russia, besides, the Spanish flu epidemic spread throughout the world and killed 50 millions at least, not to mention the economic losses that afflicted countries and spanned many decades.

As for the Second World War (1939-1945), it is considered one of the most destructive violent conflicts in human history; its victims are estimated to be 55 to 62 million dead, other than millions of wounded and maimed, along with the wiping put of two entire Japanese cities: Hiroshima and Nagasaki, an economic collapse in many countries, and an increase in unemployed and homeless people around the world. This is the expense of war, as Benjamin Franklin said: “The price of wars is not incurred at time of war, but the bill is due later”, for states and societies need a lot of time, great effort, and huge sums of money to return to their former state, in case they could!

The impact of war terrifies people’s souls, as it leaves behind nothing but destruction of human beings: we only find death, deformities, and negative psychological effects on humans, such as depression, hysteria, and pathological anxiety, which in turn negatively affect his physical health. We see man suffering fatigue, being unable to concentrate enough, as well as physical damage such as heart and stomach disorders, and may even lead to brain harm! The impact of war transcends humans to the environment, causing devastation everywhere: people lose their lives, societies are destroyed, and other organisms are immediately affected; as some animals lose the environment necessary for survival, some plants are burnt because of the bombs explosion, besides the environment pollution and loss of natural resources. Think about it! How would the world look like, in case peace prevailed and people avoided the ravages of wars?! And … stories in beautiful Egypt never end!

The General Bishop

Head of the Coptic Orthodox Cultural Center

مصر الحلوة – 375 «مِظلة السلام» – 2/12/2020

مصر الحلوة – 375 «مِظلة السلام» – 2/12/2020

عرضَت المقالة السابقة “الخِيار الوحيد” لدَّور السلام في بناء الحضارة الإنسانية وبناء المجتمعات الذي لا بديل عنه. وقد وصلتني رسالة من قارئ عزيز جاء فيها: “في بناء المجتمعات نحتاج إلى العمل الجاد كي ما نتمكن من تأمين مستقبل أولادنا”؛ وأوافقه أنه من دون عمل جاد لا بناء للمجتمعات ولا تقدم لها. غير أن البناء يحتاج إلى مِظلة السلام التي تحميه وتشدده؛ فالحروب والصراعات والانقسامات لا تصنع مجتمعات سوية قادرة على اجتياز تحديات الواقع وتحقيق آمال المستقبل؛ لذٰلك آثرت أن أكتُب اليوم عن الحرب والسلام.

إن العالم الذي عانى ويلات الحروب، وبخاصة الحربان العالميتان، لم يُدرك أهمية الحاجة إلى السلام إلا حين افتقده سنوات طوالاً!! حين ترك البشر مهماتهم الأساسية في العمل والبناء والحياة، وانشغلوا بالحروب وهدم الآخر والموت، غير مدركين أنها تحمل في طِياتها انهزامًا لمعاني الإنسانية لكل الأطراف المتحاربة. وكما يعرف الجميع، فإن احتياج الإنسان إلى الأمان هو أول مطلب يُلح بعد إشباع حاجاته الحيوية، ومن دون أمان واستقرار نفسي للإنسان تضطرب قدرات عقله؛ وهٰكذا تصبح الحروب والاضطرابات والانقسامات عوائق في سبيل بناء الإنسان والمجتمعات.

إن السلام هو مِظلة أمان البشر التي تجنبهم آثارًا بشعة تخلفها الحروب من قتل وتدمير: مثلما خلفت الحرب العالمية الأولى (1914-1918م) دمارًا استمر قرابة عَقد من الزمان في دول العالم، ونتج عنها موت 8 إلى 10 ملايين جنديّ، وعجز 7 ملايين، وإصابة 15 مليونًا بإصابات خطيرة!! وعلى الرغم من أنه لم تحسب أعداد القتلى المدنيِّين جراء تلك الحرب، فإن تأكيدًا من الدارسين أن عددهم يقترب من 13 مليونًا!! وفي “ألمانيا” وحدها، قُتل 474 ألف مدنيّ. وإلى جانب ذٰلك، مجاعات أودت بحياة ملايين البشر، وتفكك أسر وتشرد ملايين وخاصة بـ”أوروبا” و”آسيا”: ففي “روسيا” كان تقدير عدد الأطفال المشردين 4٬5 إلى 7 ملايين!! وقد زادت الأمراض إبان تلك الحرب: فانتشر وباء “تيفوس” الذي أمات 200 ألف إنسان في “صربيا”، و3 ملايين في “روسيا”، كما انتشر وباء “إنفلوِنزا” الأسبانية بكل العالم وأمات 50 مليونًا على أقل تقدير، ناهينا بخسائر اقتصادية أصابت دولاً وامتدت بها عقودًا عديدة. أمّا الحرب العالمية الثانية (1939-1945م)، فتُعد من أعنف الصراعات المدمرة في التاريخ البشريّ؛ إذ قُدِّر موتاها بـ55 إلى 62 مليونًا، غير ملايين من جرحى ومشوهين، مع إفناء لمدينتين كاملتين: “هيروشيما” و”ناجازاكي” اليابانيتين، وانهيار اقتصادي بدول عديدة، وازدياد البطالة والمشردين بالعالم؛ إنه ثمن الحروب، كما ذكر “بنچامين فرانكلين”: “لا تُدفع قيمة الحروب في وقت الحرب، لٰكن تأتي الفاتورة فيما بعد.”، إذ تحتاج الدُّول والمجتمعات إلى وقت كثير وجَهد بالغ وأموال ضخمة لتعود إلى سابق عهدها، إن استطاعت!!

إن تأثير الحروب في البشر لأمر يروع النفوس، إذ لا تخلف وراءها سوى دمار البشر: فلا نجد إلا موتًا وتشوهات، وآثارًا نفسية سلبية في الإنسان كالاكتئاب والهستيريا والقلق المرضيّ التي تؤثر بدورها سلبًا في صحته الجسدية؛ فنراه يعاني شعورًا بالتعب والإجهاد، وعدم قدرة على التركيز الكافي، وأضرارًا جسدية كاضطرابات القلب والمعدة، بل قد تصل به إلى إيذاء المخ!! ويتخطى تأثير الحرب البشر إلى البيئة فيشيع حولهم الخراب في كل مكان: فالبشر يفقدون حياتهم والمجتمعات تتدمر، وعلى الفور تتأثر الكائنات الأخرى من حيوان يفقد بيئته اللازمة لحياته، ونبات تحرقة انفجارات القنابل، إلى جانب تلوث بالبيئة، وفقدان للموارد الطبيعية. ترى، كيف يبدو العالم، إن ساده السلام وتجنب البشر ويلات الحروب؟!!! و… والحديث في “مِصر الحلوة” لا ينتهي! 

الأُسقف العام رئيس المركز الثقافيّ القبطيّ الأُرثوذكسيّ