Beautiful Egypt 386 – «Be Fair» – 17/2/2021

Beautiful Egypt 386 – «Be Fair» – 17/2/2021

The previous article discussed one of the most important rules of societal peace, coexistence with respect. In the depth of respect, we can see the traits of humanity with which we were created, which makes any human relationship devoid of it abnormal. The commandments of religions emphasize the importance of people’s commitment to respecting others.

Among the most important pillars of peace, without which societies do not arise, is justice. It has been said that it is “the power of nations.” Churchill also said that its absence is a sign of the weakness of nations, “The history of mankind has unanimously agreed on the fact that nations are not always fair when they are strong. When these nations desire justice, this means that they are no longer strong.” Justice is associated with virtues, and is said to include them all: “Justice includes all virtues.” Justice is the secret of human power. Alexander the Great stated, “He who holds fast to justice should not fear anyone.” Thus, the power of nations and kings lies in justice and the just. There is no doubt that any successful social system is based on justice. The Holy Bible says, “Take away the wicked from before the king, and his throne will be established in righteousness.”

Justice is one of the attributes of God. He is – Blessed be His name – just and loves justice. When He created mankind, He placed in them the quality of justice, and asked human beings to behave justly. The Holy Bible says, “Then I commanded your judges at that time, saying, ‘Hear the cases between your brethren, and judge righteously between a man and his brother or the stranger who is with him. You shall not show partiality in judgment; you shall hear the small as well as the great; you shall not be afraid in any man’s presence, for the judgment is God’s.” God commanded man to defend the poor justly, “Open your mouth, judge righteously, and plead the cause of the poor and needy.” God also does not like oppression or favoritism, “Now therefore, let the fear of the Lord be upon you; take care and do it, for there is no iniquity with the Lord our God, no partiality, nor taking of bribes.”

The Quran recommends, “Indeed Allah commands you to render trusts to whom they are due and when you judge between people to judge with justice Excellent is that which Allah instructs you Indeed Allah is ever Hearing and Seeing.” God also recommends justice and good conduct, “Indeed, Allah orders justice and good conduct and giving to relatives and forbids immorality and bad conduct and oppression. He admonishes you that perhaps you will be reminded.” The Hadith warns: “O My servants! I have forbidden oppression for Myself, and I have made it forbidden amongst you, so do not oppress one another.”

When a person is fair to others, they recognize them and respect their rights in society, because they always regard others as equal with them in human dignity, and consider that all members of society have the same rights and duties, and that everyone – as mentioned earlier – must respect the freedom of others. Some people may be fair in their judgments, but when they disagree, their difference turns into disagreement, so they abandon their justice and give themselves justifications before their opponents! This is rejected by religions. If there is a disagreement or enmity between you and another person, and you have not been able to remove it yet, at least do not make it worse by obeying your grudge towards them, for by doing so you will become unjust! Rather, the Holy Bible says, “If your enemy is hungry, give him bread to eat; and if he is thirsty, give him water to drink.” So if the Holy Bible urges us to do good with our enemies, shall we be unfair to those who disagree with us?! The Quran also states, “O you who have believed be persistently standing firm for Allah witnesses in justice and do not let the hatred of a people prevent you from being just Be just; that is nearer to righteousness And fear Allah; indeed Allah is Acquainted with what you do.” Your disagreement with others does not justify your injustice to them! Everyone must follow justice. Imam Ali ibn Abi Talib mentioned, “You must be fair to both friend and enemy.” One of the most famous historical examples of justice is Caliph Omar ibn Al-Khattab, whose justice has become proverbial.

 

Indeed, the talk about “Beautiful Egypt” is endless.

 

 

General Bishop

Head of the Coptic Orthodox Cultural Center

مصر الحلوة 386 «عليك بالعدل» – 17/2/2021

مصر الحلوة 386 «عليك بالعدل» – 17/2/2021

تحدثت المقالة السابقة عن أحد أهم قواعد السلام المجتمعيّ: “التعايش باحترام”. وفي عمق الاحترام، نرى سمات الإنسانية التي خُلقنا عليها، ما يجعل أية عَلاقة إنسانية خالية منه غير سوية. وقد أكدت وصايا الأديان أهمية تمسك الإنسان بالاحترام نحو الآخرين.

ومن أهم أسس السلام التي لا تقوم من دونها المجتمعات: “العدل”؛ فقد قيل إنه “قوة الأمة”، كما قال “تشرشل” إن غيابه علامة ضعف الأمم: “أجمعَ تاريخ البشرية على حقيقة أن الأمم لا تكون عادلة دائمًا عندما تكون قوية. وعندما تتمنى تلك الأمم العدل، فهٰذا يعني أنها لم تعُد قوية.”. كذٰلك ارتبط العدل بالفضائل؛ إذ قيل إنه يحويها جميعًا: “العدالة تشتمل على كل الفضائل”. والعدل هو سر قوة الإنسان؛ فقد ذكر “الإسكندر الأكبر”: “ينبغي لمن تمسَّك بالعدل ألا يخاف أحدًا.”. وهٰكذا تكمن قوة الأمم والملوك: في العدل والعادلين. وما من شك أن أيّ نظام اجتماعيّ ناجح يثبَّت على العدل؛ فيقول “الكتاب”: “أَزِلِ ٱلشِّرِّيرَ مِنْ قُدَّامِ ٱلْمَلِكِ، فَيُثَبَّتَ كُرْسِيُّهُ بِٱلْعَدْلِ.”.

والعدل من صفات الله؛ إذ هو – تبارك اسمه – عادل ويحب العدل، وحين خلق الإنسان وضع فيه صفة “العدل”، ومن ثَم طالب البشر أن يسلكوا بالعدل، فيقول “الكتاب”: “وَأَمَرْتُ قُضَاتَكُمْ فِي ذٰلِكَ ٱلْوَقْتِ قَائِلاً: ٱِسْمَعُوا بَيْنَ إِخْوَتِكُمْ وَٱقْضُوا بِٱلْحَقِّ بَيْنَ ٱلْإِنْسَانِ وَأَخِيهِ وَنَزِيلِهِ. لَا تَنْظُرُوا إِلَى ٱلْوُجُوهِ فِي ٱلْقَضَاءِ. لِلصَّغِيرِ كَالْكَبِيرِ تَسْمَعُونَ. لَا تَهَابُوا وَجْهَ إِنْسَانٍ لِأَنَّ ٱلْقَضَاءَ للهِ.”. وأوصى الله الإنسان أن يكون محاميًا بالعدل عن المساكين: “ٱِفْتَحْ فَمَكَ. ٱِقْضِ بِٱلْعَدْلِ وَحَامِ عَنِ ٱلْفَقِيرِ وَٱلْمِسْكِينِ.”. والله لا يقبل الظلم أو المحاباة: “وَٱلْآنَ لِتَكُنْ هَيْبَةُ ٱلرَّبِّ عَلَيْكُمُ. ٱِحْذَرُوا وَٱِفْعَلُوا. لِأَنَّهُ لَيْسَ عِنْدَ ٱلرَّبِّ إِلٰهِنَا ظُلْمٌ وَلاَ مُحَابَاةٌ وَلاَ ٱرْتِشَاءٌ.”.

ويوصي “القرآن”: ﴿إنَّ ٱللهَ يَأْمُرُكُمْ أَنْ تُؤَدُّواْ ٱلْأَمَانَاتِ إِلَىٰ أَهْلِهَا وَإِذَا حَكَمْتُمْ بَيْنَ ٱلنَّاسِ أَنْ تَحْكُمُواْ بِٱلْعَدْلِ إِنَّ ٱللهَ نِعِمَّا يَعِظُكُمْ بِهِ إِنَّ ٱللهَ كَانَ سَمِيعًا بَصِيرًا﴾، وأيضًا أوصى الله بالعدل والإحسان: ﴿إِنَّ ٱللَّهَ يَأْمُرُ بِٱلْعَدْلِ وَٱلْإحْسَانِ وَإِيتَآءِ ذِي ٱلْقُرْبَىٰ وَيَنْهَىٰ عَنِ ٱلْفَحْشَآءِ وَٱلْمُنْكَرِ وَٱلْبَغْيِ يَعِظُكُمْ لَعَلَّكُمْ تَذَكَّرُونَ﴾. وينبه الحديث: “«يَا عِبَادِي: إنِّي حَرَّمْت ٱلظُّلْمَ عَلَى نَفْسِي، وَجَعَلْتُهُ بَيْنَكُمْ مُحَرَّمًا؛ فَلَا تَظَالَمُوا …».”.

وحين يعدل الإنسان تجاه غيره، فإنه إنما يعترف به في المجتمع وبحقوقه ويحترمها، لأنه يوقن أن الآخر دائمًا بالنسبة إليه هو شخص مساوٍ له في الكرامة الإنسانية، ولكل أفراد المجتمع الحقوق نفسها وعليهم الواجبات عينها، وأن على الجميع – كما ذكرنا سابقًا – أن يحترموا حريات الآخرين. ورُب إنسان عادل في أحكامه، لكنه متى اختلف تحول اختلافه إلى خلاف، ويتخلى عن عدله، متذرعًا لنفسه بالمبررات أمام مخالفيه! وهٰذا مرفوض من الأديان؛ فإن كان بينك وبين أحد خلاف أو عداوة ولا تستطيع أن تُزيلهما بعدُ، فعلى الأقل لا تَزيدهما سوءًا بإطاعة ما بك من ضغينة نحوه فتضحى ظلما!! بل كما يقول “الكتاب”: “إِنْ جَاعَ عَدُوُّكَ فَأَطْعِمْهُ. وَإِنْ عَطِشَ فَٱسْقِهِ.”، فإن كان “الكتاب” يدعو إلى عمل الخير تجاه الأعداء، أفنظلم من يخالفوننا؟!! وأيضًا يذكر “القرآن”: ﴿يَا أَيُّهَا ٱلَّذِينَ آمَنُواْ كُونُوا قَوَّامِينَ للهِ شُهَدَآءَ بِٱلْقِسْطِ وَلَا يَجْرِمَنَّكُمْ شَنَآنُ قَوْمٍ عَلَىٰ أَلَّا تَعْدِلُواْ ٱعْدِلُواْ هُوَ أَقْرَبُ لِلتَّقْوَىٰ وَٱتَّقُواْ اللَّهَ إِنَّ اللَّهَ خَبِيرٌ بِمَا تَعْمَلُونَ﴾. إن اختلافك أو خلافك مع الآخرين لا يبرر ظلمك إياهم! والعدل لكل إنسان؛ فيذكر الإمام “عليّ بن أبي طالب”: “عَلَيكَ بِٱلْعَدْلِ فِي ٱلصَّدِيقِ وَٱلْعَدُوِّ”. ومن نماذج العدل التاريخية الشهيرة الخليفة “عمر بن الخطاب”، الذي بات عدله مضرِب الأمثال، و… والحديث في “مصر الحلوة” لا ينتهي!

الأُسقف العام رئيس المركز الثقافيّ القبطيّ الأُرثوذكسيّ