Beautiful Egypt 388 – «I have Granted you It» – 3/3/2021

Beautiful Egypt 388 – «I have Granted you It» – 3/3/2021

On the ninth of next March, the Copts of Egypt and the world celebrate the golden jubilee of the departure of Saint Pope Kyrillos VI (the one hundred sixteenth Patriarch of the See of Mark), who was canonized by the Church on Thursday, June 20, 2013, 43 years after his departure from this world.

Pope Kyrillos VI desired to live and die as a stranger, but the will of God chose him to become the Patriarch of the Coptic Orthodox Church. Yes, he fled from the world to the austere life of monasticism, devoting his life to God, God made him the shepherd of shepherds because he was a shepherd according to his heart, as the Bible says: “And I will give you shepherds according to My heart, who will feed you with knowledge and understanding.”

His Biography

Azer Youssef Atta (Saint Pope Kyrillos VI) began his life journey on 8th of August 1902, in Toukh Al Nasara town. He lived in Damanhur with his family, who moved later to Alexandria. After obtaining his Bachelor’s degree, he worked in Cook Shipping navigation company in Alexandria in 1921.

Azer longed for the life of monasticism, so he decided to train himself on the life of solitude, retreat, fasting and prayer. Then he resigned amidst the surprise of everyone, trying to discourage him, but he insisted on the path that he chose for himself. Azer headed to the Monastery of Saint Virgin Mary, known as Al-Baramous; where he was ordained a monk on the twenty-fifth of February 1928, named Mina Al-Baramousi. He studied at the Theological School in Helwan, then was ordained a priest in July 1931. Priest Monk Mina Al-Baramousi refused to be ordained a bishop, so he fled to the Monastery of Saint Anba Shenouda, the Archimandrite in Sohag; for God was preparing him for another mission. After returning to his monastery, he reclused in a cave in the desert, an hour-walking far from the monastery.

in 1936, Priest Monk Mina Al-Baramousi moved to the desert of Old Cairo, to live in a windmill known afterwards as “The Windmill of Pope Kyrillos”. Monk Mina the Recluse abided by daily prayer; his life began to attract many to him, as it was a light illuminating the path for them. His Australian manager said about him: “This young man has taught me how to respect him”! Also, Dr. Hassan Fouad, the director of Arab antiquities said about him: “Oh, father: You have raised the heads of the monks and have honored the Egyptian man. I send my warm greetings to you!”.

In 1941, Priest Monk Mina Al-Baramousi was assigned the presidency of the Monastery of Saint Samuel the Confessor in Mount Qalamun, and in the meantime he was promoted to an archpriest; he was moving between the mill and the monastery. However, the outbreak of the Second World War (1939-1945) hindered Archpriest Mina the Recluse from continuing his reclusion in the mill. He frequented the Southern Monastery of Archangel and the Church of Saint Virgin Mary in Babylon Stairway. In 1947, he built a church on the name of martyr Saint Mina the Wonderworker, then he established a residence for students in 1949.

The divine care had chosen Archpriest Mina the Recluse for the mission of taking care and tending the subjects of St. Mark the Apostle. A number of signs came, including the dream that Archpriest Mina the Recluse narrated to some of his close associates when he was still a monk living in the windmill. Pope Yoannis the Nineteenth appeared in a dream to Archpriest Mina the Recluse, and told him: “Look, Father Mina, the crosier was broken while I was climbing the mountain, I am very sad for it.” So, he replied: “Will Your Grace leave it for me for a little while?” He gave him the rod, then he fixed it and gave it back to him. The Pope rejoiced and told him: “Take it, Father Mina, I have granted it to you.”; So, he took it from his hand.

Archpriest Mina Recluse was ordained a patriarch on May, 10, 1959. As for choosing the patriarch’s name, it has a story… Stories in beautiful Egypt never end!

 

The General Bishop

Head of the Coptic Orthodox Cultural Center

مصر الحلوة 388 «وهبتُها لك!» – 3/3/2021

مصر الحلوة 388 «وهبتُها لك!» – 3/3/2021

يحتفل أقباط “مِصر” والعالم في التاسع من مارس القادم باليوبيل الذهبيّ على نياحة “القديس البابا كيرلس السادس” (السادس عشَر بعد المئة في بطاركة الكرسيّ المَرقسيّ)، الذي أعلنت الكنيسة قداسته يوم الخميس الموافق العشرين من يونيو عام 2013م، بعد مرور 43 عامًا على انتقاله من العالم. 

أراد “البابا كيرلس السادس” أن يعيش غريبًا ويموت غريبًا، لكن إرادة الله اختارت له أن يصير بطريرك الكنيسة القبطية الأرثوذكسية؛ نعم هرب من العالم إلى حياة الرهبنة المتقشفة مكرسًا حياته لله، لٰكن الله أقامه راعي الرعاة إذ كان راعيًا بحسب قلبه، فتحقق فيه قول “الكتاب”: “وَأُعْطِيكُمْ رُعَاةً حَسَبَ قَلْبِي، فَيَرْعُونَكُمْ بِالْمَعْرِفَةِ وَالْفَهْمِ.”.

سيرته

بدأت رحلة حياة “عازر يوسف عطا” (“القديس البابا كيرلس السادس”) في الثامن من أُغسطس عام ١٩٠٢م، ببلدة “طوخ النصارى”. وقد عاش مع أسرته في “دمنهور”، التي انتقلت بعد ذٰلك إلى “الإسكندرية”. وبعد حصوله على “البكالوريا”، عمِل في شركة “كوك شيبينج” للملاحة بـ”الإسكندرية” عام ١٩٢١م. 

اشتاق “عازر” إلى حياة الرهبنة، فقرر أن يدرب نفسه على حياة الوَحدة والخُلوة والصوم والصلاة، ثم تقدم بعد ذلك باستقالته وهو ما أدهش الجميع، محاولين صرف عزيمته، لٰكنه أصر على الطريق الذي اختاره لنفسه. ذهب “عازر” إلى “دير السيدة العذراء” الشهير بالـ”بَرَموس”؛ ثم سِيم به راهبًا في الخامس والعشرين من فبراير عام 1928م باسم “مينا البَرَموسيّ”. درس بالمدرسة اللاهوتية بـ”حُلوان”، ثم سِيم قَسًّا في يوليو عام ١٩٣١م. وقد رفض “القَس الراهب مينا البرَموسي” أن يُرسم أُسقفًا فهرب إلى “دير القديس أنبا شنوده رئيس المتوحدين” بسوهاج؛ إذ كان الله يُعده لمهمة أخرى. وبعد عودته إلى ديره، توحد في مغارة في الصحراء تبعُد عن الدير ساعةً سيرًا على الأقدام. 

في عام 1936م، انتقل “الراهب القَس مينا البرَموسي” إلى مِنطقة صحراء مصر القديمة، ليعيش في طاحونة عُرفت فيما بعد بـ”طاحونة البابا كيرلس”. وقد اهتم “الراهب مينا المتوحد” بالصلاة يوميًّا؛ فبدأت حياته تجذب كثيرين إليه إذ كانت ضوءًا يُنير الطريق لهم؛ ولمَ لا، وهو من قال عنه مديره الأستراليّ: “إن هٰذا الشاب علَّمني كيف أحترمه”؟! كذٰلك قال عنه د. “حسن فؤاد” مدير الآثار العربية: “يا أبي: لقد رفعتَ رأس الرهبان، وشرَّفتَ الرجل المِصريّ، فلك مني تحية حارة!”. 

وفي عام 1941م، أُسندت إلى “الراهب القَس مينا البرَموسي” رئاسة “دير أنبا صموئيل المعترف” بجبل القَلَمون، وفي تلك الأثناء رُقِّي قُمَّصًا؛ وكان يتنقل بين الطاحونة والدير. إلا أن اندلاع الحرب العالمية الثانية (1939-1945م) لم يمكن “القمص مينا المتوحد” من استكمال وَحدته بالطاحونة؛ فعاش مترددًا بين “دير الملاك القبليّ” و”كنيسة العذراء ببابليون الدَّرَج”. وفي عام 1947م، بنى كنيسة على اسم القديس الشهيد “مار مينا العجائبيّ”، ثم أقام مسكنًا للطلبة عام 1949م. 

كانت العناية الإلهية قد اختارت “القمص مينا المتوحد” لمهمة الرعاية والاهتمام برعية القديس مار مرقس الرسول،  فجاء عدد من العلامات منها الحلم الذي رواه “القمص مينا المتوحد” لبعض المقربين منه وكان لا يزال راهبًا يعيش في الطاحونة، فقد ظهر “البابا يوأنس التاسع عشر” في حُلم “للقمص مينا المتوحد”، وقال له: “اُنظر يا «أبونا مينا»: عصا الرعاية انكسرت مني في أثناء صُعودي الجبل، فأنا حزين عليها جدًّا.”. فقال له: “يتفضل سيدنا ويتركها لي قليلاً؟”؛ فأعطاه إياها، فأصلحها وأعادها له. ففرِح البابا وقال له: “خُذها يا «أبونا مينا»، قد وهبتُها لك.”؛ فتسلمها من يده. 

وقد سيم “القمص مينا المتوحد” بطريركًا في العاشر من مايو 1959م. أمّا عن اختيار الاسم البطريركيّ، ففيه قصة … وفي “مصر الحلوة” لا ينتهي! 

الأُسقف العام رئيس المركز الثقافيّ القبطيّ الأُرثوذكسيّ

 قال مصر الحلوة ٣٨٨ «وهبتُها لك!»